Mrs S, Maylands

A friend of mine was leaving Perth for good and we decided to have a last catch-up brunch at Mrs S. I’ve never been and heard so many good things so I was pretty excited to finally make the time to pop over!

It was a chilly winter morning, but thank God for the warmth of the sun. We found street parking easily and walked up to the corner of the street where Mrs S is located at. We were greeted with an almost-full cafe – which is always a sign of good things to come especially for a weekday morning. It didn’t take long for us to get a table (we moved from a squishy corner table to a more comfortable one shortly) and we started to browse the menu.

image

Children’s storybook menu – charming!

image

Full with little ones and mums

I ordered at the counter for us and we were served rather promptly with our meals.

image

Granny June’s Cornbread – with bacon, maple syrup and poached eggs

I had the cornbread as it sounded way to tempting from the menu. When I finally got my fork/knife and dove right into the dish, I was treated to bites of lovely sweet maple syrup, bits of salty bacon and soft texture of the cornbread. It was a lovely dish for sure. Only quibble I have would be that the poached eggs were not perfect – the yolk did not ooze out and was slightly cooked. Also, nearing the end of the dish, I definitely had some trouble finishing it as it was pretty filling.

image

Skinny Latte

I also had a cup of skinny latte which was served at a drinkable temperature and was a pretty decent cup of coffee.

Overall, I am looking forward to return to try other items on the menu and some of the cute little cakes/slices on the counter (I was too full to try anything else on this occasion).

Mrs. S on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

