No 4 Blake Street, North Perth

It’s rare that I’m able to catch-up with the best friend over brunch due to our usual packed mornings but we managed to organised one a couple days ago. The only problem was that it was on a Monday – where most brunch places were closed! On browsing various options that morning, we decided to meet-up at No 4 Blake Street. I’ve heard good things about their dinner menu but wasn’t too sure on brunch.

With plenty of parking and located off Walcott Street (relatively close to the City), it wasn’t too hard to get to and I’ve got to say, the entrance looked pretty nice amongst the other shops/houses in the area. We walked through the entrance (glass door) and was greeted promptly by a waitstaff. It was bright, airy and the centerpiece table had loads of yummy looking cakes/muffins. Relatively quiet and a nice temperature, we took our seats on a side and was served water immediately – a gesture I appreciate a lot.

image

Chai Latte

I decided on a comforting warm cup of Chai Latte for the chilly winter morning and was decidedly satisfied with each warm sip – not overly sweet and just the right temperature.  The best friend had a mug of flat white and was in a happy mood as well.

image

Florentine – Silver beet, bechamel sauce, baked eggs, hollandaise with toasted olive bread – $17

I was tempted by the Florentine on the menu as I couldn’t get past the ‘hollandaise’ jumping out at me and I also wanted to try baked eggs. The eggs were soft, wobbly and the yolk flowed through the pan – it was how I imagined it to be. I enjoyed it with the greens and the olive bread. The star for me would be the bread that came drizzled in olive oil because the soft-boiled eggs with all the sauces started to become too ‘raw’ for me halfway through and I found myself struggling a little. It was a nice balance of flavours – but I might stay away from soft-boiled eggs for awhile (personal preference maybe!).

image

Tomato & Bacon (note my friend swapped the bacon for sausage) – Fried green tomato, poached eggs, pork & fennel sausage, hollandaise with toast – $18

The best friend was tossing up a few options on the menu but decided on the ‘Tomato & Bacon’ except she swapped bacon for the pork & fennel sausage. I asked for her opinion and the verdict was, tasty especially the fried tomato, but not exceptional.

All in all, we had a good time catching up in a really nice ambience. People started streaming in slowly and my observations tell me they were mostly ladies catching up with friends and some with little ones. Service was a delight, attentive but not too much and it seemed to me like a place that’s nice for catch-ups! With a quick glimpse at the dinner/degustation menus, I’ll be looking forward to try dinner there sometime.

No 4 Blake Street on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

