Jamie’s Italian, Perth CBD

I remember the hype when Jamie’s Italian first opened over the Easter weekend. I had joined in the fun with a 3-hour queue just for a table – and vowed never to do that again. My first experience at Jamie’s came down to a word – salty.

However, I decided to give it another go but was definitely going to make a booking this time round. The online bookings system worked but that meant I had to wait a few months for a table. So patience, and I got my table for a weeknight.

W and I arrived on time to quite the queue and I heard snippets of conversations where the wait for a table was about 1.5 hours – I was definitely glad that I made a booking! We went straight up to the counter and had to wait roughly 5 minutes before being shown to a cosy table for 4 at the corner of the restaurant. Jamie’s was just as I remembered – packed/cosy, dim lighting and lots of chatter.

Whilst waiting, we decided to order 2 drinks for the night:

image

Left: Ginger Mojito (Mint, lime, sugar & ginger beer) $6.50
Right: Refresher (Fresh lemon, elderflower cordial & cranberry juice, topped with lemonade) $6.50

I had the ‘Refresher’ – it was definitely refreshing for sure, served with lots of crushed ice and just the right amount of tang from the lemons. W was pretty happy with his ginger mojito as well. I stole a couple of sips and thought the mint added a nice touch to the ginger beer.

When the other friends arrived, we placed our orders after a good browse of the menu.

image

Left: Spaghetti Vongole (Steamed sweet cockles, garlic, chilli, white wine, parsley, butter & lemon: entree sized) – $15
Middle: Posh Chips (with truffle oil & parmesan) – $6.50
Right: Seafood Bucatini (Tubular spaghetti steamed in a bag with crab, mussels, clams, squid, scallops, capers, chilli, garlic, white wine & juicy sweet tomatoes; main size only) – $29.50

I had the vongole in an entree size as I remember being full just from an entree-sized risotto the last time. This dish was served with 4 clams and I was pretty satisfied with it as a main. Taste-wise, I loved it. On first bite, the spaghetti was cooked to a lovely texture, clams were fresh and the sauce was absolutely yummy. The chips were tasty – just the right amount of saltiness from the parmesan.

W had the seafood bucatini as reading it on the menu, it seemed irresistible. When the dish came though, it didn’t look like it would be enough! Only at 1 size, we were surprised that it didn’t look like it could fill one up. Our friend had ordered the same dish and came to same conclusion – he had to order an additional pasta dish (entree sized) even after sharing a risotto entree.

I had skipped out on entrees in order to save room for desserts:

image

Left: Tiramisu (Coffee-flavoured trifle with orange mascarpone & chocolate) – $9.50
Middle: Poached winter fruits (With vanilla frozen yoghurt & smashed honeycomb ) – $9.50
Right: Sorbet (Mango, lemon and strawberry) – $8

I couldn’t make up my mind on the sweets (as usual) but decided on sorbet for a refreshing end to the meal. Mango was the favourite but the 3 scoops were all fantastic – not overly sweet and just the right texture. I had a few mouthfuls of the Tiramisu from W and he was happy with it too – the orange in there helped to cut some of the richness of the mascarpone. The friend however, didn’t finish her dessert of poached pears. She wasn’t impressed with the fruit but did finish her frozen yoghurt.

All in all, service was relatively fast and attentive given the huge crowds. We were pretty satisfied from the meal but the golden question of whether to sacrifice and queue over an hour or two for a table was answered with a no. It was pretty yummy food but not exceptional Italian. I would return if I had a reservation though!

Jamie's Italian on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

