Mother Chu’s Taiwanese Gourmet, Chinatown NSW

On a recent trip to Sydney,  I made it a point to have breakfast at this Taiwanese place to fulfil my inner-Asian childhood cravings.

Located pretty much right in the midst of Sydney’s Chinatown, it wasn’t hard to find and at mid-morning on a Saturday, it was getting pretty crowded. We were quickly seated and started browsing the menu – I was starving from not having eaten since the night before on our flight from Perth.

Among the 4 of us, we had:

image

Hot soya bean milk (served in a bowl) $2.80
Sweet flaky pastry $2.50
Century egg with pork porridge

image

the highlight of the meal – fried doughsticks with green onion pancakes (the picture shows 2 serves) $5.50 for 1 serve

The fried dough sticks with the green onion pancake were everything that I had dreamed about. I’m drooling now just thinking about it. Now my next question is, where do I find something like this in Perth?!

The porridge was pretty darn good as well. The hot soya bean milk was not quite what I expected but I realised it was probably the more authentic version. It was such a huge serving and it was not sweetened at all - which was when I realised we had a tub of white sugar on the table to sweetened it to our liking. I can’t remember much of the sweet flaky pastry as it wasn’t my order but I do recall it being particularly ‘hard’ and breaking into pieces – definitely wasn’t the highlight.

As you can imagine – I was not starving by the end of our meal. Next time when I’m in Sydney, I know where to find breakfast and what to order.

Mother Chu's Taiwanese Gourmet on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

