Jones the Grocer, Sydney CBD

It was early in the morning and very cold when I began searching for some nice, warm, comfort food to fill an empty tummy.

I was told that the flagship store of Jones the Grocer in Westfield Sydney opened bright and early and offered a good choice of options for breakfast.

Located on Level 5, the restaurant/cafe was dimly lit and sent wafts of nice-smelling delights out the door. I walked in and was promptly attended to by a cheerfully smiling waitress.

I was drawn to the thoughts of mushrooms and feta and ended up with the ‘Forest mushroom frittata, sheep’s feta, asparagus & truffle oil on sourdough toast’ ($17). I also ordered a comforting pot of Earl Grey Tea to start my day right.

image

The mushrooms were oh so glorious and nicely accompanied by the feta and eggs. The asparagus were well-cooked and had a nice crunch as well. I was however, sorely disappointed by the sourdough toast (hidden right at the bottom of a mountain of the mushroom frittata) as it was hard, tough and difficult to eat – it seemed like it was somewhat burnt as well.

The service though, was faultless and attentive. The waitress that served me was polite, so attentive and made my morning start a great one.

Jones the Grocer on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

